This year's recipients include a psychological sciences student
Show Me Mizzou
Psychological Sciences
Banner Image

Mathew Kimaku, Arden Schupp, Elizabeth Trower, and Carly Hays

A quartet of Tigers recently received the Hesburgh Scholarship, named in honor of the former president of Notre Dame University, Father Theodore Hesburgh and his commitment to liberal arts education. The annual award goes to four University of Missouri undergraduate students, one from each class, in recognition of their achievements in the university’s general education program. The general education program is designed to ensure that while students specialize, or major, in an area, they also leave the university with a breadth and depth of general knowledge.

This year’s winners are:

  • Mathew Kimaku, a freshman health science major from Lee’s Summit, Missouri
  • Arden Schupp, a sophomore psychology major from Sedalia, Missouri
  • Elizabeth Trower, a junior journalism major from Perry, Missouri
  • Carly Hays, a senior health science major from Kansas City, Missouri

All four students are also pursuing the Honors certificate at MU.