University of Missouri alumnus receives prestigious economics award

News Source: 
College of Arts & Science

Congratulations to MU doctoral graduate Teerachat Techapaisarnjaroenkij for being selected by the Eastern Economic Association as the recipient of the group’s Eckstein Prize for 2011–12.

The award is given out to the author(s) of the best article published in the EEA in a two-year period. Techapaisarnjaroenkij’s article, co-written with Assistant Professor Cory Koedel, studied the relative performance of Head Start and non-Head Start childcare programs.

“The key finding from this study is that Head Start centers perform similarly to non-Head Start centers, in terms of their effects on student test scores,” Koedel says. “This is an important finding given the intense scrutiny that the Head Start Program has faced in recent years.”

“The award is a great honor,” Koedel says, “and reflects well on us as authors, the economics department, and our PhD program.”

Share This

Facebook icon