Alumnus receives UM System award

Don Flora, center, poses with Ronda Elfrink, Alliance Chair, and UM System President Tim Wolfe
Jennifer Hollis
News Source: 

College of Engineering alumnus Don Flora, BS IE ’66, MS IE ’68, MPH ’71, received the 2013 Presidential Citation Award from the Alliance of Alumni Associations on behalf of the Mizzou Alumni Association. The University of Missouri System awards one Presidential Citation Award for each campus in the University System, plus one for UM Extension and one for the UM System.

Flora received the MU campus award. MU Alliance members unanimously nominated him, citing his active involvement in MU alumni organizations and his contributions to MU and the college.

“In each of those roles, Flora has served with passion and a commitment for higher education policy,” his nomination said.

Flora said he was honored to just to be nominated for the award and just as honored to receive it.

“The Alliance plays an important role as an advocate for the President and the University System,” he said. “It has been a pleasure working with such talented and committed advocates for MU and higher education. I am humbled by this recognition of the small role I have played with these wonderful people and incredible institution.”

The Presidential Citation is the most recent honor bestowed upon Flora, who has received numerous MU and college awards, including the College of Arts and Science Distinguished Service Award last March and the Missouri Honor Award in 2010. He is an MAA Life Member, a Jefferson Club Very Distinguished Fellow, a Chancellor Society Fellow, a Shamrock Society Fellow and was part of the Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering Hall of Fame inaugural class in 2008.

Flora was a member of Marching Mizzou for six years while he was earning his undergraduate and graduate degrees in engineering and health services management, respectively. He played the sousaphone in Marching Mizzou and the tuba in the concert band.

The UM System Presidential Citation Awards have been given since 1982. Originally presenting awards for the four system campuses, it was expanded to include the UM System award in 1987 and the UM Extension in 1990.

Share This

Facebook icon