Mizzou Celebrates National American Indian Heritage Month

Thursday, November 1, 2018 (All day) to Thursday, November 29, 2018 (All day)

Campus

Departments: 

NAIH banner

ᏂᎬᎾᏛ ᎠᎹᏰᎵ ᎠᏂᏴᏫᏯ ᎾᏍᎩ ᎢᏳᎾᏛᏁᎵᏓᏍᏗ ᎧᎸᎢ

National American Indian Heritage Month

ᏩᎦᎸᎳᏗᏴ  ᏧᎾᏕᎶᏆᏍᏗ ᏨᎫᎵ

University of Missouri 

 

Indigenous Food Systems

Opening Event

Thur., Nov. 1 @ 5:00 p.m. 

Tate Hall 22 

Thomas (Ed) Smith, Osage 

 

Indigenous Representations in Media

Pop! goes the NDN

Thur., Nov. 8 @ 6:00 p.m. 

Strickland Hall 105

Lee Francis IV, Pueblo of Laguna

 

Craft Night 

Fri., Nov. 9 @  6:00 p.m.

Student Union- Women’s Center

Four Directions

 

Indigenous Teaching and Lakota Wisdom

Mon., Nov. 12 @ 4:00 p.m. 

Arts & Science 114

Tony Ten Fingers, Oglala Lakota

 

Backing into Transindigenous Futures:

Tue., Nov. 13, 2018 @ 4:00 p.m. 

Lefevre 112     

Vicente Diaz

 

Art and Activism: An Apache Tradition

Film and Discussion with Filmmaker

Wed., Nov. 14, 2018 @ 5:00 p.m.

Arts & Science 114

Selina Marie Curley, San Carlos Apache

Carrie Sage Curley, San Carlos Apache

 

Indigenizing Education: Foregrounding 

Native Voices, Ways of Knowing, and 

(Hi)Stories within Schools and Universities

Mon., Nov. 26 @ 5:00pm

220 Townsend - Bridge

Robert Petrone

Melissa Horner, Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa

 

“More Than a Word”

Film by John and Kenn Little, 

Standing Rock Sioux Tribe 

Tue., Nov 27 @4:00 p.m.

220 Townsend - Bridge

 

“Mekko”

Film by Sterlin Harjo, Creek

Tue., Nov. 27 @ 6:30 p.m.

Geology 123 (Keller Auditorium)

 

When Dream Bear Sings:

Native Literatures of the

Southern Plains

Wed., Nov 28, 2018 @ 1:00 p.m. 

Tate Hall 22 

Gus Palmer Jr., Kiowa        

 

“Waaki” (Sancturary)

 a work-in-progress screening 

Wed., Nov 28, @ 3:00 p.m..

Fred Smith Forum, Reynolds Journalism

Victor Masayesva, Jr. Hopi

 

Indigenous Research & Art Exhibition

Thu., Nov. 29th @ 4-6 p.m.

216 Stewart Hall

MU Faculty and Students

 

CAMPUS SPONSORS:

College of Arts and Science; Undergraduate Studies, Linguistics & Division of Inclusion, Diversity & Equity